Burning incense


Recalled to life by the ringing temple bell
so lost in the sweet intoxicating smell of burning incense,
for a moment I have lost myself
within myself and my memories.
I caugt myself,
analysing and contemplating on a deeper meaning in life
which is beyond my grasp,
but yet so temptingly near.
So blissfully lost,
in the tranquility of the melanging enchanting scents,
flowing through my brain,cleansing me of every impure thought,
filling up my soul with a light so innocent
alighting my senses,igniting my awareness
of an eternity I never understood,
that I never knew exsisted.
The magical scent of burning incense
overwhelms my soul,filling it with meaning
and a purpose in life.
An exhilarating experience,
beautiful yet so fragile.
So lost in the scent of burning incense,
I rediscover myself,
and what I’m meant to be,
the freedom of an unbound soul,
the joyous,carefree wanderer,
wandering off in to the sunset,
till it finds its final resting place.
so lost in the scent of burning incense,
the sweet enchanting scent,
reminding me once again,
of what I really am………………..

5 Comments on “Burning incense”

  1. Reflections says:

    Loved this… there is much depth drawn from the senses, yearning to be experienced.

  2. luna15 says:

    vivid and draws you in. a true delight to read

  3. Jingle says:

    self discovery is cool,
    keep wandering, love the way you explain your name.
    Happy Potluck!

  4. booguloo says:

    Reverie at it’s finest. You were blessed to have this experience. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Hema says:

    Nice poetry there.Getting to know the real meaning of life is I’m sure a long journey. You have brought out the experience so beautifully. Loved it :)


Leave a Reply

