Oozing thoughts


It rained tonight

And drizzled across my mind, a thousand thoughts

That hummed and buzzed, shattered

Like glass beads across a hardened skull, the noise

Numbed the brain, as the beads

Rubbed against each other, teeth chattered

I wondered, maybe

The rain is to blame, thunder rumbled

And protested that it was not so, I remained callous

Listless eyes wandered

Across a wooden ceiling, rested themselves

On a rotating fan, round and round it went

Until I grew dizzy, the thoughts

Were quiet now, so was

The rain, there was

No one who would listen, the rain realized

That it wails in vain, and I realized

That I was all alone. So

The thoughts grew quiet and I

Ceased the chatter, bid farewell

To an indifferent ear, my thoughts

Laughed and did more bead grinding, tinkling as they ground

While I

Patiently listened, words poured

The rain recommenced and this time

I listened. Because it needed to be heard.

17 Comments on “Oozing thoughts”

  1. One for the dark romantics…very melancholy.

  2. belladonna23 says:

    lovely imagery. i love it <3

  3. seabell says:

    The rain changes our perspectives… And sometimes we do have to listen, especially when thoughts and words are involved! Well done!

    • Yes….Rain has a way of speaking to our inner being which we choose to ignore most of the time.Rain is the perfect time to ponder,wonder over the marvels of life,death and everything in between.And thank you :)

  4. danroberson says:

    All alone and listening to the rain,
    ignoring your own thoughts, your own pain,
    because the rain needed to be heard,
    listen to the rain, its every word.
    I enjoyed this porm and your next one as well.

  5. dsnake1 says:

    dark stuff, i like!

    seriously, i enjoyed it, this is a poem with layers of differing moods playing over each other. and the last line blew me away. :)

    • Yes,it definitely has a dark feel to it.And yes,I do have a thing for dark stuff,guilty as charged :D
      And thank you so much for the lovely comment.Means a lot coming from someone who writes like you :)

  6. deadpoet88 says:

    This so lovely, yes sometimes I’m sure the rain would like to be heard, just for a little while. I love listening to the rain. I love this poem!

  7. Olivia says:

    Intense imagery!!
    Speaks a lot about you.. The thoughts you have woven in words are mind- blowing!

    Loved it..
    many hugs xox

  8. Andy says:

    Beautifully written and illustrated. Thank you for sharing and welcome to the Pantry.

  9. an special award for you.
    visit me to claim it.

    perfect job here.

    :)


Leave a Reply

