Can’t I?


Can’t I

Lose myself between words, get lost

Between the pages of a dusty old book

That nobody opens, curl up

Like a C, go to sleep

Warm and cosy

And hope that nobody will notice?

Can’t I

Hide between the leaves

Of a dewy frangipani tree,lulled

By the tranquil scents,smile

At a rising sun, float

To an embracing earth,borne

Upon the feathery wings,of a

Gentle flowing breeze?

Can’t I

Dive in to your arms, lose myself

There,disappear

In to the folds of your skin, dissolve

In to the pores of your flesh,hide

In the marrow of your bones, flow

Within the course of your veins

Dwell within

Without ever been seen but

Forever felt?

22 Comments on “Can’t I?”

  1. Dheepikaa says:

    Cozily cuddling between the pages of a book or between two words – How I wish! It is a very clever image, one that any writer/reader will die to be in.

    Like how you finished the poem about wanting to be felt and not seen. Everyone’s dream put in such remarkable poetry.

  2. booguloo says:

    As long as she doesn’t mind then yes you can.

  3. magher1 says:

    Beautiful scenery. I sometimes dream of breaking free and hiding somewhere from the whole world… Heartfelt poem, very nice!

  4. Marit says:

    yes, you can! and take me with you!

  5. love the imagery….unseen but forever felt, I can dwell in this thought :)

  6. Iris D says:

    Nice imagery. Cuddle in to disappear and be a part of someone or something else. Yeah to this poem!!

  7. Jingle says:

    a piece full of imagery and insights.
    thanks for sharing.
    happy rally.

  8. thingy says:

    This is gorgeous. Can I hide in your poem for awhile? : )

  9. Andy says:

    Lovely. You’ve created a beautiful scenery that anyone would be happy to be lost in. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Sam says:

    such a warm cuddly poem…

  11. WOW. Such beautiful words, almost lyrics in their flow. The repetition of “Can’t I” between each stanza is brilliantly effective. Amazing poem.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  12. saya says:

    Wow felt very cozy reading this.. Very nice imaginary and awesome flow of words. Me likes it :)

  13. Tweety says:

    Wow…thats the only word I have for this…

  14. Jillien says:

    wow. i’m speechless. this was truly incredible. one of the best poems i’ve read in ages. you are very talented

    JM

  15. Paul says:

    such vivid natural images, and great ending!

  16. ‘Behind the leaves!’ Behind them still leaves us much open to view from other angles. I love this. How ardently we plea for that which we crave of have a passion for.

  17. dunstancarter says:

    I like the questioning intensity

  18. You drew me along at an alarming pace. I felt consumed :-)

  19. dswan2 says:

    I think you are a song or a poem. A lonely song?


Leave a Reply

