Ominous clouds


Dark clouds creep in, threaten

To throttle the horizon, thunder growls

Lightning menaces

It already struck once, once upon a time

Almost killed

But we live with the belief

That it never strikes the same place twice.

Coldness reigns, chills the bones, indifference

Oh indifference, carry me away

Did lightning strike again?

I hope not, because this time

I will lose the faith

And shall recover no more.

Take all your burnt skin, its awful stench

I cringe at your sight, be gone, be gone

They said

Lightning does not strike the same place twice

But it had it seems

And I believe no more.

 

13 Comments on “Ominous clouds”

  1. Oh wow…that is truely amazing!A very menacing piece, made me think of a deity sitting upon high serving his/her judgement

  2. I freak at storms. Don’t like them one bit. But this poem certainly does them (and thoughts) justice. I felt every word…!!

  3. I’m not afraid of storms. it freaks my wife out when I stand outside and watch them with lightning striking all around. Very nice, visual writing. Well done!

    My poem this week: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/she-sat-alone-2/

  4. beautiful description of the cloudy/stormy moments.
    well done.

    :)

  5. ashbeezone says:

    Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  6. poetryroad says:

    I could feel an underlying theme here which was sad. Well written! My favorite line:

    Oh indifference, carry me away

    I often feel this way!!!

  7. This was excellent! I enjoyed your thoughts completely!

  8. deeju says:

    beautiful poem. rightly merges with the layout of your blog!

  9. thingy says:

    A little sad, but, the way of life. Good write. : )

  10. tigerbrite says:

    Lightening does strike in the same place twice as I know personally. You well express the menacing threat of it.

  11. I liked this very much.

    Larry

  12. Kay Salady says:

    To be dangling from a thread of hope is an awful place to be. What a wonderful poem to encapsulate this horrid place in time. However, the sun always comes after the storm, doesn’t it? ♥


Leave a Reply

