A rain drop’s plea


Sometimes,

Insides go numb. Sometimes

They burn.

Indifference flares the best of us sometimes

On a deserted land I stand, memories swim in the surrounding water

Fangs sharp, noses pointed

Seems like they’ve just smelt bait, defenseless, vulnerable.

Words fall on inattentive ears, drip away

Like rain drops on roof tiles

Losing their worth.

Dripping to the ground, down

The gutters, gushing out

In all their angst, pain

Remorse.

Why waste words?  Why lose respect?

I wonder.

It is a parched earth that truly values a drop of rain

I know

And yet, I make words rain

Voluntary exile? Humiliation?

Roof tiles keep rejecting and I

Long for soft, moist, welcoming ground

That used to be here,

Somewhere

To lay my head, rest the hurting limbs

Oh sweet, loving peace, to lay down and sleep.

2 Comments on “A rain drop’s plea”

  1. Bluesander says:

    There’s a lot of pain in this poem and it really reaches out to me. The desperation, the lost hope. I’ll be following from now on.

  2. nnicole says:

    I enjoyed this. I enjoyed the images and the emotion that is raw there.


Leave a Reply

